Marcus Hobbs Award

The Marcus E. Hobbs award was established in 1988 to recognize members who have made significant, long-term contributions to the North Carolina Section of the American Chemical Society. The award was named for Marcus E. Hobbs, a model member who worked closely with the North Carolina Section since becoming Chair in 1945. Dr. Hobbs was a professor emeritus of chemistry and University Distinguished Service Professor at Duke University and Distinguished Governor Emeritus of RTI International; he was also instrumental in the creation of the Research Triangle Park.

To be considered for this year's award, nominations must be submitted by July 31, 2022, through the Marcus Hobbs Service Award Form.

Questions can be directed to the Chair of the Nominations and Awards Committee, who is the Past Chair: Mary Beth Koza.

Criteria that will be considered are the following:

  • Service as an elected Executive Committee member in NC-ACS

  • Service as a leader or active member of NC-ACS committee(s) (WCC, YCC, Outreach, Education, Project SEED, Membership, etc.)

  • Service as a leader within one of the NC-ACS Discussion Groups (TriMR, TCDG, Mass Spec, Polymer, etc.)

  • Other NC-ACS service. Examples include: initiating, organizing, and/or leading NC-ACS sponsored events; local organizer for SERMACS or ACS Division Meetings; representing the NC-ACS to other organizations or at ACS National/Regional meetings; serving as a Project SEED Program Coordinator and/or Faculty Mentor; serving as a judge at NC-ACS sponsored events; or other service in support of an NC-ACS sponsored event.

Send comments to: